Supporters of the statement from 13 March 2012


Professor Jon Altman

Professor of Anthropology and an ARC Australian Professorial Fellow at the Centre for Aboriginal Economic Policy Research (CAEPR), Research School of Social Sciences, the Australian National University


Sr Annette Arnold

Congregation of the Sisters of St. Joseph


Professor Larissa Behrendt

Director of Research at the University of Technology Sydney


Hon Sally Brown AM

former Family Court Justice and former Chief Magistrate of Victoria


Robert Connolly

Filmmaker, Writer, Director, Producer - Balibo, Romulus My Father


Bishop Emeritus Hilton Deakin DD PhD AM


Rev Dr Denis Edwards OAM

Theologian, Author


Dr John Falzon

CEO St, Vincent de Paul National Council of Australia


Rt Hon Malcolm Fraser AC CH GCL PC

Former Prime Minister of Australia


Rev Dr Djinyini Gondarra OAM

Galiwin’ku Elder


Carmel Heagerty RSM

Institute Justice Coordinator


Kerry Heysen-Hicks

Film Producer


Nicholas Jose



Rosalie Kunoth-Monks OAM

Utopia Elder and Mayor of Barkly Shire, NT


Berneice Loch RSM

President of the Institute of Sisters of Mercy of Australia and Papua New Guinea


Philip Lynch

Executive Director Human Rights Law Centre Victoria


Ass. Professor Sarah Maddison

University of New South Wales


Alistair Macrae

President of the Uniting Church


Dr Jeff McMullen AM

CEO (Honorary) Ian Thorpe's Fountain for Youth Foundation


Graeme Mundine

Concerned Australian


Hon. Alastair Nicholson AO RFD QC


Adj. Professor Peter Norden

RMIT University


Elder Dr Alitja Rigney

Educator South Australia


Brother Paul Smith fsc AM

CEO Lasallian Foundation


Rev Ken Sumner

Chairperson, Uniting Aboriginal and Islander Christian Congress


Hon Ian Viner AO QC

Former Minister of Aboriginal Affairs


Brian Walters SC

Immediate Past President and Board Member, Liberty Victoria


Dr Irene Watson

Aboriginal Lawyer, International Law Advocate, Academic and Writer


Hon Paul Guest QC

former Judge of the Family Court of Australia